Profound Contentment and Monkeys Smoking Pot

on

So the “big thing” I referenced in February that might be happening was a job. A job for David in San Francisco that he almost got that we both were convince he was going to get because everything seemed to be falling into place and it seemed so so perfect. I was more excited than you could possibly know about the whole thing.

For the past almost 9 months David has been looking at, thinking about, and applying for jobs so we’ve been in this weird limbo of not knowing what’s happening and making no plans that include us having to be here. The house has been totally neglected as well, I have done no projects on it or decorated it in even the smallest way in that time because we legitimately don’t know where we’ll be living in a month and if it’s not here I don’t want to put any holes in the walls or do anything I’ll just have to then undo.

But the job fell through. There is no San Francisco. There is no job. And there is no certainty in our lives.

So I decided fuck it! Waiting is stupid and I’m tired of it so instead I am attempting profound and uncontrolable contentment. I’m going to decorate, I’m going to do projects, and I’m going to put holes in walls when I need to put something up and exactly zero shits will be given about the fact that there’s a very real chance I’ll be undoing all my work very very soon if David gets an offer somewhere else.

posters
So I started by putting up posters. Our room is undecorated and boring, it’s also the messiest place in the house because nobody sees it except us so it’s the last place to get attention.

And don’t you judge me for my posters, they’re awesome. And I figure between them and the massive stacks of children’s books on the dresser I can just claim I’m going for “pregnant college student chic” and start a new trend or something.

So here we go… profound contentment with where I’m at (both personally and geographically) starting now! Any ideas on what I should decorate next?

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Lydia says:

    I like those posters!

    Is your living room decorated to your liking yet? That’s where I’d start next if you haven’t done it yet.

    1. Jenna says:

      The living room doesn’t have a ton on the wall but it has a lot of shelves with fun things and a lot of windows so I don’t know how much it needs. The kitchen is good cause that’s where I spend most of my time (chaotic and messy but good). The guestroom, kids room, and playroom is on the list. Also bathrooms… but do people decorate bathrooms?

      1. Lydia says:

        I’ve seen nautical themes once or twice, although most people don’t seem to do a lot with their bathrooms. 🙂

  2. Erin says:

    Profound contentment is a beautiful thing to aspire to. Attitude is everything… You may not be able to control your situation, but you can control your attitude. I love your decision to stay positive.

Leave a Reply

