Conversations With Children: Eating Boogers

(A few days ago, immediately after Finn and Verona got home from their nine day trip with their grandparents.)

Me: “You guys have grown!  I swear you guys are bigger than when you left last week!”

Verona: “Yes mom, I grew up a lot while I was gone.  Like I’ve stopped getting into everything, so you don’t need to worry about that anymore.”  (long pause)  “But I have started eating my boogers.”

(Then, this morning at the library while I was very dramatically reading a Curious George book to her.)

Verona: “Mom!  Mom!  Stop reading I have to tell you something very important!”

Me:  “Ok ok, what’s so important?”

Verona:  “I ate my booger.”

Me:  “Ummmm… like, now?  Or just at some previous point in your life.”

Verona:  “Just now, while you were reading about the man in the yellow hat.  I just wanted to make sure you knew.”

Me:  “Ignoring for a moment the fact that I really don’t need to know that, why did you eat it?”

Verona:  “I don’t know.  But I think we should stop and talk about it.  Mom, why did I just eat my booger?  Why do I do that?”

Me:  “Well… I was kind of hoping you would tell me.”

Verona:  “I think it’s because they just taste so good.”

Me:  “Given how many kids eat them I’d always assumed they had to taste good.”

Verona:  “And also, it had to go somewhere.  And wiping it on the floor is gross.”

Me:  “You think wiping it on the floor is gross but that eating it isn’t?”

Verona:  “Nothing that tastes that good can be too gross, mom.”

Leave a Reply

