I have a boner for vintage cameras.

The good thing about some of your best friends selling everything they own to move overseas?  You get their stuff… and you can get it for cheap.  This is substantially cooler when your friends are the type who own cool stuff.  But I digress.

Due to the situation above I recently became the owner of several super funky vintage cameras that I have fallen MADLY in love with.  Like, run away to Vegas and get married, love.

Like most things, the thing that makes them awesome is also the thing that makes them suck.  In the case of ancient analogue cameras that is the fact that you have to tell them Every. Single. Thing. you want it to do.  Modern cameras are way smarter than you realize (or at least than I realized).  Smart enough to know what kind of film you put in it, how to focus on what you’re shooting, how much light is in the room.  And that’s just the $40 camera that your grandma got at Walmart… my DSLR is so smart it could take the freaking SAT for you.

I tell my normal camera “Hey you, this is the picture I want to take.” and it responds “Awesome Jenna, I’m on it!”

I tell one of these new guys that and it shoots me a look of dire confusion while responding “Picture?” like it doesn’t speak English.

Anyway, it’s a giant pain in my ass.  It’s also awesome because by having to think through every little piece of a photo before I take it instead of just spinning my camera around while holding down the continuous shooting button I am learning so much about the basics of photography it’s unreal.

It’s like explaining advanced physics to a kid with Downs.

You’ll want to start punching walls because it’s so frustrating, but when you’re done you’ll have a deeper understanding of physics because you had to break it all down to it’s most basic components.

Sorry I don’t have any pictures to accompany this post… almost seems ironic… but everything I’ve been shooting lately has been film and none of it’s developed yet so I’ll get some soon.

3 thoughts on “I have a boner for vintage cameras.

  1. Your posts make my day infinitely better. I was feeling kinda low and now I just choked on my lunch giggling and that was just the title! Oh, I wish I lived in ‘Merica so I could come and chortle at your awesome.

Leave a Reply

