Confession Time

on

Being a stay at home mom can feel undeniably soul sucking sometimes.

There, I said it.  I love my kids, I straight up adore those squirrely little bastards, and I want to be home with them.  I’m not one of the moms who thinks she has a moral obligation to be home with her kids, or couldn’t financially afford not to be, I’m here because I want to be.

There are days full of enriching activities.  Lots of curled up on the couch together reading, seeing the amazing friendship Verona and Finn have with each other, and watching them blossom in so many ways.  But there are also days… plenty of days… where I look at everything I’ve accomplished (which looks like absolutely nothing) and sigh in exasperation “Seriously?  SERIOUSLY?!?!  24 hours of chaos, screaming, poop, and busting my ass and the only thing I can say I accomplished today is that nobody killed themselves?  THIS is what I think the best use of my life is!?!?!”

And that’s the truth.  Luckily those awesome days, or at least days somewhere in between, substantially out number the crazy soul sucking ones.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. I sometimes wish I wanted to be home with my kids. I feel like it’s something I should want. Good for you for doing it!

  2. Erin says:

    I think that’s something every stay-at-home mom experiences. The bright side is that I think moms are a lot more connected now thanks to the internet. You have such a great community, both online and in real life. My mom stayed home with us, and I think she was so isolated… I don’t know how she did it. Anyway, I don’t think you need to feel guilty for having those days occasionally.

Leave a Reply

