Herpes in my bed (not, not that kind)

If I had a nickel every for every time I’ve not wanted to let Verona do something because of the anticipated mess I… I feel like I should say something about being rich but the truth is I wouldn’t be, but I would at least have money for us to go to lunch at Applebee’s.

Nonetheless, I usually hold back the impulse to scream “HELL NO!” and let her have whatever quintessential childhood experience I will end up scrubbing of the kitchen floor.

Today was one of those days.  After a months of saying “Let’s do _______ instead!” when she mentioned it I finally relented and got out the glitter.

I thought I was SO smart to do it outside so the glitter couldn’t get on anything in the house because as anyone who has ever used glitter knows, it is the herpes of the craft supply world… once it gets on something it never. goes. away.

Like, ever.

So I stuck the kid on the porch outside our room with glue and glitter and my blessing while Finnegan chilled out on my bed staring at the fan and I did various chores around the room so I could keep an eye on her.

I left the room for like ten seconds.  Ten freaking seconds.  And came back to find Verona standing on the bed over Finn, shaking that little empty bottle of hot pink glitter like a Polaroid picture (hey ya), and screaming “Mommy!  I making baby brother PRETTY!”

Sigh.  Yep, that’s my kid.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Baby boys DEFINITELY need glitter. Verona has her act TOGETHER, man!

    1. jboring says:

      Today is the first day that I see no sign of it in his whispy baby hair.

Leave a Reply

