DPP :: Community

December Photo Project

Want to know one of the main reasons I don’t want to send my kids to school?  Coffee time.

Ok, not coffee time specifically, but what coffee time represents.  Coffee time, Thursday mornings in the lounge at the church.  Everyone takes turns bringing food which sometimes means homemade banana bread from a woman who’s been perfecting the recipe for half a century and sometimes means Einstein Bagels that a college kid picked up on his way here from class.  Sometimes there’s 5 people, sometimes 20.  Alway’s there is coffee.

Coffee time may be one of my favorite times of the week.  I love the fact that the age span is usually 80+ years.  I love the conversations which cover everything from the most important of spiritual matters to the most hilarious of Chuck Norris jokes.  I love that nobody judges the pastor of 60 years and nobody judges this young tattooed and pierced mom who isn’t comfortable calling herself a Christian.  I love that we can all take an hour out of our busy busy lives to sit down together and just be.  I love the community.

I love that I have learned some of the most profound things in my life on Thursday mornings in this room and I love when Peter (the older man on the couch in the back of the picture) weaves a story into a lesson on how we are called to be better than we are and I see Verona taking in every word.

If my kids are in school all day they’ll have the chance to gain knowledge, but if they can come here they’ll have the chance to gain wisdom (and probably plenty of knowledge too).

In the end, I think wisdom is pretty damn important.

I want my kids to grow up learning more than just long division.  I want my kids to experience LIFE!  And the wonder and beauty that is the people around them!  I want my kids to experience FULLNESS and RICHNESS and COMMUNITY!  Because in the end if all you know is long division you’re going to be missing out on a lot.

10 Comments Add yours

  1. Lydia says:

    Coffee time sounds like a lot of fun. Are you given a specific topic to talk about each week or do you all just talk about anything you want to? (I couldn’t quite tell from your post although I think it’s the latter?)

    1. jboring says:

      No, everyone’s just hanging out getting their legal addictive simulant on.

  2. Jessica says:

    All kinds of jealous of your coffee time.

    Also, when did things change around here? You can tell I don’t get around as much as I used to in the blog world. Lol.

    1. jboring says:

      Haha, they’ve actually changed three or four times in the past few weeks… I’ve been getting antsy and changing blog backgrounds is easier than painting my house weird colors.

    2. jboring says:

      P.S. Come visit me and Jennifer and I’ll take you. 🙂

  3. Elizabeth says:

    Jealous here, too. We have some major trouble within our church body and I know that we could reconcile and start to heal if folks from both sides would just SIT and EAT and TALK together. There’s something about eating and talking that frees our heart, kwim?

    You are very blessed!

    1. jboring says:

      I know. I wish you the best with your church family. If you need someone to rant to let me know, I’m a great listener… or email reader… whatever.

  4. Maybe your kids can just be mysteriously late for school every single Thursday forever and ever…

    *
    Wilson

  5. Erin says:

    Oh, how I miss that church…

Leave a Reply

