A Musical Life

When I was little my parents were in a music group with two of their close friends.  They all played guitar, piano, and other assorted instruments and sang together at gigs across the state.  Some of my first memories are of getting to sit on the edge of the stage at their concerts and watch the crowd who were as  mesmerized by every note they produced as I was by seeing how something as simple as four part harmony could bring so much joy to an entire room full of people. 

When Verona was a baby the best way to get her to smile was for me to put her in the swing in the music room and play piano… she would be a ball of sunshine for as long as we stayed there.  Recently a bunch of our friends started a blue grass band so she’s getting to grow up around all the constant music making too instead of just seeing me play my solo gigs for her at home.

I couldn’t be happier.

3 thoughts on “A Musical Life

  1. When I was in middle school, my friend’s dad had a blues band and we would hang out and sing along at their rehearsals. Those are really happy memories. Verona is so lucky!

Leave a Reply

