Happiness?

on

I’m doing this big project on pursuing happiness for ZTC and I’d like some imput.  My first step in discovering happiness is interviewing people whose opinions I value and respect what their take on it is, but really why stop there.  Everyone who reads this blog (and by “everyone” I mean “both of you”) should leave a comment and if you’ve got gems of wisdom I may end up using it.

What is happiness?  How does someone pursue happiness?  How has pursuing happiness gone for you?  Got any other pertinent info chillin in your mind grapes on the topic that you’d like to share?

…and GO!

5 Comments Add yours

  1. happygirl says:

    I don’t want you to consider me a spammer, but this is basically my purpose for blogging. Granted it’s my own personal journey, but my goal is the pursuit of happiness and how it’s working for me. Feel free to stop by some time.

  2. Erin says:

    What is happiness?
    I have no idea how to define it. But for me, happiness isn’t a big picture thing, it’s those small moments when you feel like your heart is going to burst with joy. But I think it’s impossible to maintain that. So happiness is those little moments, and contentment is the bigger picture, if that makes sense.
    How does someone pursue happiness?
    By doing things you love with the people you love.

    How has pursuing happiness gone for you?
    Pretty good. 🙂 I tend to be obnoxiously happy a lot of the time. Contentment, however, is more elusive.

  3. shannonmakesstuffup says:

    Random commenter here:

    I agree with Erin, happiness is found in small moments, contentment is the goal.

    Several years ago I was in a bit of a funk and couldn’t figure out why. I wrote down two lists: Things that make me Happy and Things that make me Unhappy and vowed that I would try to change or avoid things on the ‘unhappy’ list, and make those things on the ‘happy’ list a priority. It was amazing how small most of the entries were. Happy – Going to the Farmer’s Market; Unhappy – Folding socks. Happy – Reading; Unhappy – Clutter. Etc. etc. etc. What I also found surprising was how much of a difference it made in my mood just to identify each of these small things and to give myself permission to make my ‘happiness items’ a priority.

    1. jboring says:

      What would you do if you had conflicting enteries? Like, on my list “clutter” and “cleaning anything ever” would both be on the Unhappy list… what did you do then?

      1. shannonmakesstuffup says:

        Ha ha! Fortunately, I avoided any of that sort of conflict. 🙂

        I don’t know what you do then. I suppose curl up in a ball of conflicted unhappiness.

Leave a Reply

