Osama Yo Mama

I was going to try and write a post about how disheartened and sad the reactions of Americans and especially Christians left me feeling yesterday but was having trouble putting it into words.  Today though a blogging and unschooling buddy of mine managed to post on hers many of the things I wanted to say so instead of trying to rehash what I’m still having trouble processing go read what Jessica has to say

Why should I stop ripping off other people’s words there though, why not make it the theme of this post?  The only that could ease my soul last night was this prayer by St. Francis of Assisi, I don’t get into religious stuff on here very often but in the bible there is a promise that when you are so downtrodden that you can’t even make the words of a prayer for it the spirit will intercede and express the things you can’t on your behalf… St Francis was my spirit last night, maybe someone out there is feeling the same way and this can help them too so here you go.

Lord, make me an instrument of your peace;
where there is hatred, let me sow love;
where there is injury, pardon;
where there is doubt, faith;
where there is despair, hope;
where there is darkness, light;
and where there is sadness, joy.

Grant that I may not seek to be consoled but to console;
to be understood as to understand;
to be loved as to love;
for it is in giving that we receive, it is in pardoning that we are pardoned, and it is in dying that we are born to eternal life.

2 thoughts on “Osama Yo Mama

  1. I couldn’t bring myself to celebrate his death, but on the same token, I cannot bring myself to mourn his death. In my mind, we were at war and he was the enemy. In war, there are casualties. His death was a casualty of war, albeit a high profile casualty of war.

Leave a Reply

