Geocaching

I have a new favorite hobby (a bit of unschooling for myself is necessary from time to time), geocaching.  People hid things all over, seriously, they’re everywhere.  You pass by hidden treasures everyday on your way to work/church/friends house/the park/grocery store and don’t even know it.  You get the coordinates off the website, follow your gps to where it is, and search high and low until you find it.  Inside there’s a thing to sign with the names of all the other people who have found it before you and usually little treasures so you can take something and leave behind something for the next person.

Needless to say, it’s freaking awesome.  I got a gps ap on my phone and there was one in the park by our house that I found first and then the other night I made Erin go on a geocaching caper with me.  I’ll be sure and take some pictures next time I go (and if anyone in our area (Phoenix) wants to go on an adventure with me I’d be  ecstatic!) but for now, since I feel lame posting without some sort of picture, here is what our morning looked like…

We woke up early and made blueberry kiwi muffins for everyone.  Verona loves to “help”.

Then Marlowe and I took all the girls to the park to run amuck.

Marlowe, being the fabulous friend that she is, bought us all ice creams…

…which Verona was a big fan of.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. happygirl says:

    I REALLY want to do this. I think it sounds like tons of fun. I love your pics. What are you using?

  2. Jessica says:

    I didn’t realize you were in Phoenix! If I were in Phoenix I would SO be geocaching with my Christian Unschooling counterpart Jennifer from The Path Less Taken!

  3. Jennifer says:

    Hi! We are geocachers (and unschoolers) in Phoenix too. Jessica – Bohemian Bowmans – sent me to your blog, and I love it! Just wanted to say hello. 🙂

Leave a Reply

