Grandparents

We are so luck to have so many parents and grandparents around us.  We have David’s mom and stepdad just a hop skip and a jump away, but we also have a slew of other people who have become parents and grandparents to the three (soon to be four) of us here in Phoenix.  Whenever we need something, or advice, or someone to watch Verona there is no shortage of people we can turn to.  One of our adopted Phoenix parents pointed out to me in a really sad voice yesterday that we haven’t needed them to take care of Verona in a long time… we literally have more free childcare then we need, who else in this world can say that?


[Verona with her grandma Diane cuddling at Costco]

I remember when I was super super pregnant, like ready to pop pregnant, David went on a trip up north with the kids in the youth group that my doctor said I couldn’t go on because… well… I was ready to pop. So I was going to be home all by myself for the weekend and thought, “If I go into labor and need someone to come pick me up and take me to the hospital at 3am, who could I call?”  I started listing and the list just kept going and going and going.  Having that many people you’d feel comfortable waking up in the middle of the night to help you out is a good feeling.

So here’s to all our grandparents here in Phoenix, biological and otherwise.  You are loved.

Leave a Reply

