The Great Vegan Experiement

I am starting a social experiment.  I am going to be vegan for the next two weeks to see what it’s all about and if it is awesome, stupid, or somewhere in between.

I’m just curious how feasible living with such extreme dietary restrictions is in everyday life and whether or not my body feels as fantastic and healthy as my vegetarian and vegan friends swear up and down it will.

A little background about my own food habits.  I love cooking and grew up in a family where diet was an extension of religious beliefs, namely that our consumption of food needed to reflect our values.  Basically this meant that in a world where so many people went hungry it was our responsibility to eat in a socially responsible and sustainable manner that included eating locally, growing some of our own food, minimizing highly processed foods, and using recipes that stretched a little bit of meat to accommodate a lot of people.  As an adult now I eat more or less the same and am above most other food things a borderline obsessive label reader.  We don’t have a lot of things in our house with ingredient lists that are long or containing things I can’t pronounce. 

One of the rules I’m putting on this though is that I won’t take it to the extent that it causes me to be rude, so if in the course of these two weeks someone else cooks us something I am not going to reject their generosity.  Similarly I am not going to be annoying or a douchebag about it, I refuse to pester the wait staff at restaurants to go read the ingredients on the sauce of an otherwise meat and dairy free meal to check for hidden egg yolk.  I’ve worked in food service and if you ever ask your server to go read an ingredient list you are always being either annoying or a douchebag… often both.  

With that in mind, here we go.  I’d love any tips, hints, or comments from any vegans or vegetarians… hell, let’s be honest, I’d love snarky comments from hardcore carnivores as well.  Let’s do this!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Erin says:

    I admire you. I could not be vegan! Even if it was only for a few weeks! The no egg or cheese thing would kill me.

    If this was Chicago, I could recommend some amazing vegan restaurants. But I can’t really help here. I have enough trouble figuring out what to bring to the vegan potluck.

  2. For a while I worked with a vegan lady who was also a really good baker. She and her (also vegan) sister have a recipe blog: http://innocentprimate.wordpress.com/ I’ve made some things from there even though I have no interest in eating vegan. They were delicious. She brought food to work all the time and it was always awesome.

Leave a Reply

