Violence In Our Backyards

I don’t know if there are words to express how I feel right now but I’m going to give it a shot.

For those of you who haven’t seen the news today, earlier here in Arizona a gunman came to a meeting held by one of our state representatives Gabrielle Gifford, shot Representative Gifford in the head and began shooting into the crowd.  As of now Gabrielle is in critical condition, numerous others are in similar condition at the hospital, and five are dead including a little girl.

I originally typed “When did politics become worth killing over?” but then realized that people have seen politics as a valid reason to kill others for years; it’s the reason we send bombers overseas, invade foreign countries, and impose harsh sanctions policies.  But there is something different about it happening right here, so close… or maybe there isn’t.  Maybe part of the real tragedy here is that we get so shock up by violence happening here but stand idly by or even support it when it’s people who look different from us, believe different from us, and live different from us somewhere far far away.  Is there really a difference?

I didn’t know what I was going to write when I got on here a moment ago and I feel like all I did was ramble, but I will say that my prayers will include the victims of this tragedy, their families, and also the gunman and his… he may very well need our prayers more than anyone else.

Leave a Reply

