2011PP // Christmas Ornament Portrait

Christmas for me gets really impersonal.  I always seem to end up spending the holidays as a martyr, using all my energy making other people’s Christmas dreams come true.  Sometimes I need to step back and see Christmas as what’s happening around us.  It isn’t the bazillion stressful get-togethers or the guilt inducing consumerism-fest that I get hurled into by others.  It’s crooked ornaments and Verona trying to reach the pretty lights, it’s David making a big delicious Christmas breakfast, it’s all our friends going to Tim Finnigan’s after the Christmas Eve service.  Christmas is reflecting on the little glorious events around us everyday.

I must admit I didn’t come up with this photo idea, I’ve seen a couple other people do this.

Leave a Reply

