…and then there was tween love

I didn’t tell you all the best part of Comicon last weekend, I thought it deserved it’s own post.

First, let me take you back a few years to a nerdy little girl sitting on the couch in her basement anxiously awaiting her favorite show of all time, Star Trek: Voyager, to start.  I loved the show, I really did, but more so I was in tween love with Ensign Tom Paris, the bad boy turned starship pilot.  He was gorgeous, street smart, and lived in outer space (outer space happens to be anywhere but central Kansas which was probably it’s biggest appeal)… basically he was everything my scrawny 11 year old self wanted in a man.  I watched him every night, I had posters of him all over my room, my email address was ilovetomparis@hotmail.com for crying out loud.  He was my Elvis.

So Saturday we went to Comicon with our friends Steve and Ron and we walk past a booth of Star Trek artwork, one of which was a big signed painting of the Voyager crew including my beloved Tom.  I laughed and started telling Steve about how crazy I had been for that blonde starship pilot and he says “I think he’s here today.”  I laughed, “Right Steve, you’re just trying to get me all excited, whatever.”  But he insisted, “No, I’m pretty sure he’s here, he’s over there signing autographs.”

I followed Steve, positive he was pulling me leg, until I stopped dead in my tracks.  There… behind his booth… sat non-other than Robert Duncan McNeil, the actor who played Tom Paris.

I looked a little bit like this…

Then a little bit like this…

And then this…

There he was!  It was Tom Paris!  TOM mother f-ing PARIS!  And he was here… we were in the same room… I COULD GO TALK TO HIM!  Slowly David, Steve, and myself walked up the long roped off line to where he was, getting closer and closer and with every step I had to force myself with all the energy in me to keep acting like this…

…when ever fiber of my being wanted to completely lose my shit and do a little bit of this…

And then finally we were right in front of him, feet away from the object of my tween desire… and as he looked up at me ready to say hello I couldn’t hold it back any longer.

I was a fraction of a second away from freaking out like a 12 year old girl meeting Justin Beiber, the frantic jumping, screaming, crying, and damn near wetting myself was on the verge of spilling out…

…and I couldn’t let it.

I am much too old to be displaying such behavior.  Especially as a pregnant lady standing next to her husband.  No.  Not ok.  So I did the only thing I could do that didn’t involving jumping, screaming, crying, and damn near wetting myself… I panicked and ran in the other direction.

I ran away and then stood about a hundred feet back behind a sign watching him like some sort of stalker.

I’m pretty sure he didn’t see me back there (oh god PLEEEASE do not let him have seen me back there!), and I’m guessing he was at least a little perplexed by the crazy lady and possibly more perplexed by the confused looks of her two man friends when she bolted, but who cares.

I saw Tom Paris.  TOM PARIS.  And just like a 12 year old girl who was just mere feet away from Justin Beiber I will never be the same.

2 thoughts on “…and then there was tween love

  1. Oh, Jenna. This cracked me up. Have you seen the pictures of when I met Donald Miller? They’re on Facebook if you haven’t, and you can tell I’m making a total ass of myself. So maybe it’s for the best that Tom Paris didn’t see you like that. :)

Leave a Reply

